Ruler Work with Patsy Thompson at Missouri Star Quilt Company

Do you use My Creative Blog List to follow blogs?  I do and it helped me spot a recent post on Patsy Thompson’s blog, about her new online class with Missouri Star Academy called “Beginning Free Motion Quilting Rulers”.

patsy thompson

While I’m not an expert with Free Motion Quilting Rulers, I have been using them for a few years and absolutely delighted with ruler work.  My first project with rulers was a King Size + quilt on a domestic machine and I love the results with ruler work, as well as how easy it was for me to quilt.  When I spotted Patsy’s “Beginner” class, I wasn’t certain it would be a good fit for me, but I know she is an excellent teacher, always throwing in more tips & tricks, so I signed up.  And, today I want to share insights with you about this class and why I can honestly recommend this class to quilters of all levels!  Yes, all levels even if you are experienced with Ruler Work!

Here is an overview of what is covered in this online course:

Beginning Free Motion Quilting with Rulers with Patsy Thompson is an online class, which you can watch anytime, stop/start/repeat anytime.  The total time is 2 hours and 1 moment, in what is organized as 5 lessons and 2 bonus lessons (or as I think of 7 lessons).  Plus Patsy provides a downloadable 24-page instruction guide with easy to follow instructions and great visuals!

And, the price of this class is only $20 (currently on sale for $15).

class intro

 

You don’t have to be a free motion quilting master to get amazing results. Add a ruler and create fabulous architectural designs! Beginning Free Motion Quilting with Rulers takes your finishing skills to a whole new level. In this groundbreaking class taught by Patsy Thompson, you’ll gain the skills you need to customize your quilting designs and build borders for beautiful free motion architecture and artistry. Your designs can be as simple or as intricate as you’d like by adding embellishments and even additional tiers. With Patsy to guide you, you’ll learn from a master quilter and develop a practical set of ruler skills that you can combine in endless ways. Come for the basics, stay for the tips and tricks, and soon you’ll be a ruler work wizard!

class intro

lesson 1 intro

 

Lesson #2    Measuring, Marking and Practicing

lesson 2

Lesson #3 – Straight Line Ruler Work   

lesson 3

I really loved the class practice piece where this lesson really shows you how to create amazing Art Deco borders and apply them to your projects!

Annotation 2019-11-24 172442

Lesson Four: Curves, Swags, and Channels Annotation 2019-11-25 183601

I also appreciated how Patsy shares insights about a variety  of rulers you could use to accomplish this type of ruler work, as well as using the inside vs outside of curves.

Annotation 2019-11-25 190623

Lesson #5   Arched Swag Border Designs

ruler work lesson 5

Patsy is an amazing quilter and teacher.  I thoroughly enjoyed this lesson where she teaches you to use different fills for your arched swags.

Annotation 2019-11-28 162151

 

Lesson #6   Bonus Video 1: Turning a Corner on a Quilt with Ruler Work

While this is a great lesson where Patsy teaches you to turn the corner of your quilt, using rulers to continue the border design around the corner.  She also shares plenty of inspirational quilt samples with different swags and fills designs.

lesson 6 minimal marking

Lesson #7  Bonus Video 2: More Table Runner Ideas – Mirror Images

This was a super fun bonus lesson where Patsy teaches how to use your rulers to create mirror image motifs.

lesson 7

I can’t wait to create a Mandala design with rulers, based on the tips and tricks she shared in this lesson.

I hope you can see why I thoroughly enjoyed this class and can honestly recommend it for quilters of all levels.  The price honestly makes this class a steal!

Click this image to check out all of the online classes with Missouri Star Quilt Academy, as well as to sign up for Patsy’s Beginning Ruler Work class:

75837c5cad995006d86e11b9a9cb2592

3 thoughts on “Ruler Work with Patsy Thompson at Missouri Star Quilt Company

  1. Thanks for providing more info about this class than Missouri Star did. I had hesitated because of not knowing how long the class was and what it covered. Also I’m not a beginner.

    Like

  2. I am an experienced free motion/ruler work quilter and just finished watching Patsy’s ruler work class. She’s a wonderful teacher and I learned a lot.

    Like

Comments are closed.